Most recent posts

A walk, in colour Mon, 6 Jul 2020 @ 3:19 pm

On my usual 6-mile, circular walk it wasn’t as sunny as it was forecast to be, so I’ve selected these images for their colour.


When the little people came Tue, 30 Jun 2020 @ 11:31 pm
Chloe – 6 years 2 months

Grandad, as seen by
Iris – nearly 4 years

A walk in the woods Sun, 28 Jun 2020 @ 3:26 pm


The Young Montalbano Sat, 27 Jun 2020 @ 10:51 pm

BBC4 are repeating The Young Montalbano and what a glorious treat it is.

A great story (Mortally Wounded) was pure joy. There’s so much to be gained from being familiar with the main characters, their quirks, their repetitive behaviour. It’s quality drama with complex and rich, crime stories. It’s funny, it’s farce, and it’s charming and brilliant. The acting is wonderful, the characters are warm and the actors are beautiful.

An acquired taste, for sure, but when you get it, you’re in for a treat.


Well, hello there Thu, 25 Jun 2020 @ 3:07 pm

A grasshopper, if I’m not mistaken. As a boy I used to seek them out in the long grass.

Prior to release

Hamble, March 2019 Thu, 25 Jun 2020 @ 10:39 am


Father’s Day Sun, 21 Jun 2020 @ 8:20 pm
A home made and beautifully coloured Father’s Day card.
Thank you, Lucy.

Out the window Thu, 18 Jun 2020 @ 11:29 am

Slaughtered by a 6-year-old Tue, 16 Jun 2020 @ 9:28 pm


Shot on a walk! Mon, 15 Jun 2020 @ 3:57 pm

The Martin Beck novels Sun, 14 Jun 2020 @ 12:39 pm

So far this month I’ve re-read from my shelves three Swedish police procedurals by Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö. They wrote ten altogether and they are so good I’ve ordered the other seven! I’ll space them out so that I don’t get tired of them.

The main character in all the novels is Martin Beck and we very much enjoyed the TV series Beck which was based on the novels. Interestingly, though Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö plotted and researched the stories together, they wrote alternate chapters.

In the meantime I’ve just finished reading The Offing, by Benjamin Myers. It’s set around the lovely, Yorkshire fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay. An old man looks back to 1946 when, as a 16-year-old boy, he set off for an adventure and stumbles across an eccentric, older woman. A really lovely read. I’ll certainly look out for other novels by the same author.

I’m currently reading A Dry White Season, by André Brink. Set in apartheid South Africa, this is a step outside my usual fiction comfort zone and, so far so good.


Out the window Fri, 12 Jun 2020 @ 2:28 pm
Boy with kite

When kids are not allowed Sun, 7 Jun 2020 @ 5:40 pm
An image for the times

Social distancing Fri, 29 May 2020 @ 9:17 pm

In case you’re wondering, the window was open.


Thames walk by Hampton Court Thu, 28 May 2020 @ 5:26 pm

Today, 8.2 miles Wed, 27 May 2020 @ 4:19 pm

A deviation from the normal route took me along narrow and overgrown paths. A minor head injury from an overhanging branch was a consequence of my concentrating on beating the overgrown plants blocking the path. Incredibly I came across a prefab being used by a small car-maintenance business, and a rather pleasant church. Finally, just a couple of miles from home, I came across an attractive new area for exploring.

[Reminder to self for the next time: take an OS paper map – it’s all very well using the OS phone app to find one’s way (isn’t it brilliant!), but I’d be stuck if the phone failed or the battery died!]


6.8 miles @ 3.5 mph! Mon, 25 May 2020 @ 12:35 pm

So it was not exactly climbing despite how it appears on the graph, but walking at 3.5 mph for just under 2 hours is not bad for a seventy-something.


My mum would have been 99 today Thu, 21 May 2020 @ 9:10 am

Down by the river Wed, 20 May 2020 @ 6:59 pm


Not bad for an old timer Mon, 18 May 2020 @ 6:02 pm

6.8 miles in just under 2 hours = 3.4 mph.


Flower Fri, 15 May 2020 @ 4:42 pm

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑